Skip to main content

Posts

The Island's Telegraph Cable (part 2)

  THE ISLAND’S TELEGRAPH CABLE (PART 2) LONGEST FRESH WATER SUB-MARINE TELEGRAPH CABLE IN THE WORLD By Leslie Korenko Heralded as the ‘Longest Fresh Water Sub-Marine Telegraph Cable in the World ,’ the Island’s telegraph cable was laid on Saturday, June 19, 1875 and received extensive coverage in the press. “ Laying of the Longest Fresh Water Sub-Marine Telegraph Cable in the World. - On Saturday the sub-marine telegraph   cable between Kelley’s Island and Marblehead   was laid. The operation was witnessed by a large number of people from this city and the Islands. The Gazelle   took the cable on board here and proceeded to Put-in-Bay , touching at Kelley’s Island. She returned to the latter place about half-past 1 o’clock that afternoon and went directly to Marblehead, where one of the shore ends of the cable was made fast. The Gazelle carried the cable to the Island. While the Gazelle   was at Marblehead   the Mystic   arrived, having on board...

Kelleys Island and the Influenza epidemic of 1920

  AN EPIDEMIOLOGICAL STUDY OF THE 1920 EPIDEMIC OF INFLUENZA IN AN ISOLATED RURAL COMMUNITY. During the influenza epidemic of 1920, this incredibly detailed study was done on the Island. It was the perfect place since it was isolated in the winter with minimal exposure, making it easy to trace origins and transmittal rates. There are loads of charts and graphs and the goal of interviewing everyone on the Island was fully accomplished. In all, 53% of the population contracted influenza and two died. The study also give us a really good picture of the Island during the winter of 1919/20.   Here are some of the highlights as the study reports on the possible sources of the influenza, provides detailed tracing of how people were exposed, lists the measures taken to treat the illness, and evaluates how effective was immunity for those who contracted influenza in 1918. Population - During the influenza epidemic of January and February, 1920, there were 689 persons upon the isl...

That statue of Mary on Titus Road

It seems like every few years, there is a flood of questions about the statue of Mary located on Titus Road. Rumors abound! One person heard it was created in honor of Island fishermen - a fisherman's shrine if you will. Another was sure it was a memorial to a young couple who died in a car accident at the spot on their wedding day.  These, and the others, are all quite romantic, but unfortunately, not true.  Several years ago, the best history of the statue appeared in our local newspaper, Kelleys Life (the March/April 2012) edition. So, in answer to all those questions, and thanks to Kelleys Life, here is the real story about the Statue of Virgin Mary that we all love so well. By the way, you read several years' worth of Kelleys Life on the museum website - just click on Island Newspapers. (https://www.kelleysislandhistorical.org/kelleys-life-newspaper.html)

The N. Side Quarry Crusher Building

WHAT IS THAT BIG BUILDING AT THE STATE PARK? By Leslie Korenko This is one of the TOP 10 questions that we get asked at the history museum and on Facebook. That was the North Side quarry crusher. Late in 2018, the State Park cleared the trees and brush from around this structure, revealing it for the first time in many years. As a result, people are asking “What is that big cement thing at the State Park?” While there are several great pictures in the quarry section of the museum that tell a more detailed story about this structure and the various quarry operations on the Island, here is a little history about this particular building. The right side of the building was the steam plant that powered the entire operation. The left side was the crusher building and stone storage bins. Railroad cars would back up through a hole in the upper part of the building and tip stone down into the crusher, which was located in the corner where the two structures meet. You can still see the co...

It's 1911 - And murder has occurred on the Island.

A video tour of the Kelleys Island History Museum

Check out our new video - This is a great opportunity to see what we are all about. There is a little bit about each of our standing exhibits, a look back at some of our more popular one-year only displays (Island electricity, Bathing Beauties, A Kelleys Island Kitchen, and commercial fishing exhibits).  Tour the Kelleys Island History Museum (2019)

Memorial Day on Kelleys Island in 1898

Memorial Day 2020 is behind us and the impact of COVID-19 on this day was keenly felt on the Island. In the past, upwards of 200 people would show up at the cemetery to show their respect to those who fell protecting our freedom and our country. They had speeches, bike races, and parades. Ceremonies today are a bit more low-key.  On April 25, 1898 the United States declared war on Spain following the sinking of the Battleship Maine in Havana harbor on February 15, 1898. The war ended with the signing of the Treaty of Paris on December 10, 1895. This was the Spanish-American War. The list of island men volunteering include William C. Upp, who had already enlisted in Co. B and was awaiting orders, Edwin L. Upp, Thomas Keating, William Blatt, Andrew Boker and Frederick Hess. Here is how they celebrated  MEMORIAL DAY – 1898 “In the midst of the excitement of the present war comes Memorial Day, the day when we decorate the graves of the boys in blue who died in the...